Quick Reference Guide

Old Covenant

New Covenant

Manna rains down from heaven

Jesus, the “Bread of Life,” has come down from heaven

Old manna is a mystery and it feeds and nourishes God’s chosen people until they enter the Promise Land

New manna, the Bread of Life, is a mystery and it spiritually feeds and nourishes our souls until we enter the Promise Land

Manna falls daily as in, “Give us this day our daily bread.” The manna is a prefiguration of the Eucharist.

Jesus is the “Bread of Life,” which is given daily in the Catholic Mass all over the world in over 3000 languages

The Pascal lamb is sacrificed at Passover

Jesus offers himself at Passover

The Passover lamb must be male, unblemished, and have no broken bones

Jesus, the Lamb of God, is male, unblemished with no broken bones

Passover lamb is slain at twilight. (3:00 pm)

Jesus, the Lamb of God, dies at 3:00 pm

Lamb’s blood is applied to the lentil and doorpost with Hyssop branch

Jesus receives the 4th cup on the cross with the hyssop branch

Priestly vestments are required to be worn by the high priest when sacrificing animals during the Passover meal

Jesus is the High Priest and the sacrificial Lamb of God at Calvary; he is wearing priestly vestments and offers himself as the perfect sacrifice of the new covenant

In Leviticus, we learn that the “life is in the blood” and God requires the blood to be put upon the altar for the atonement of sins

Jesus says, this cup is the “new covenant” in my blood, which will be shed for you. Do this in memory of me.

Jews do not accept Jesus as Messiah. They continue (even today) to practice the old covenant Passover meal also called the “Feast of Unleavened Bread”

Early Christians follow Jesus and participate in the New Covenant of the Eucharist.

The Passover

The Mass

The Catechism of the Catholic Church states, “The Eucharist is ‘the source and summit of the Christian life.’” (CC 1324)

The feeding of the 5,000 and 4,000 are prefigurations of the Eucharist. Jesus handles the bread in the same manner as he does in the Upper Room while instituting the Eucharist. He took, blessed, broke, and gave. Jesus then appears to disciples in Emmaus. They recognize him by the manner in which he handles the bread. He took, blessed, broke, and gave. He leaves the disciples with the first Eucharist. Source: The Catechism of the Catholic Church.

The Catholic Church is the only Christian institution that teaches, practices, and follows this covenant of the Eucharist as was established by the Jesus and guided by the Holy Spirit to the early Church Fathers.

Previous Section

Table of Contents | Printable Version